I made cupcakes

We had an actual “weekend” last week of two whole days! After a week of tech, our only day off from which was Thanksgiving, it was fantastic to get Tues AND Weds off the following week. 

Of course I was so excited to leave that I left the damn dry cleaning in the dressing room and had to go back for it. Abel turned around to meet me there, so I promised cupcakes upon our return on Thursday.

They’re gluten-free, made with Outrageous Baking’s amazing flour mix, and I also made them dairy-free. 
I adjusted this recipe by doubling the cinnamon and ginger, and using vegetable oil instead of melted butter. Then I ignored the frosting recipe in favor of making my own – I think I used 2/3 cup Earth Balance margarine and about 1.5 cups confectioner’s sugar, and 1 tsp or so of cinnamon and a touch of ginger. I really ought to KEEP FREAKING TRACK of the changes I make to recipes when I make them, because these cupcakes turned out FANTASTICALLY AMAZING and perfectly crispy on the outside and moist inside, the frosting was exactly enough and totally delicious, and I can’t remember exactly how I made them. Dangit. 

Leave a Reply

