Pumpkin Pancakes and Buffy the Vampire Slayer

The Boyfriend and I are working our way through several TV shows, including watching Buffy from the very beginning. We’re watching one of my favorite episodes (Season 1, The Puppet Show) and drinking coffee (I had to de-scale my Keurig this morning in order to make it). The Puppet Show and Nightmares are definitely in my Top 10 Favorite Episodes. 🙂

We went to an engagement party for one of my old friends last night. I wasn’t sure about attending because I think I was invited by his mother because my mom was going, not because he and I are really close. We were discussing the fact that our 1o-year high school reunion should be this May, and he and I think it’s probably been that long since we spent time together. It was really nice to see him again, and his fiancee seems nice and funny and a really good fit for him. (She’s also beautiful.) I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed talking to him, and that we used to have really serious and personal discussions during the carpool, and sometimes we would take the “long way” home (drive around on country roads for a while) because we weren’t done talking. I’m really sad that we dropped out of touch and I’d like to try and rebuild our friendship. (Though he lives in D.C., which makes it difficult. Maybe we’ll be e-mail penpals.)

The Boyfriend, being a music teacher, filled my dishwasher with recorders yesterday:

2013-11-09 13.54.48

I made gluten-free pumpkin pancakes this morning using my Outrageous Baking flour and pumpkin puree. Mmmmm. We put yogurt chips in half of them and it definitely added extra deliciousness.

PUMPKIN PANCAKES

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/4 cups gluten-free all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon clove
1 1/2 cups soy milk
1/3 cup pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons melted margarine (Earth Balance)
1 egg

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, spices and salt in a bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl whisk together milk, pumpkin, melted butter, and egg.
  3. Fold liquid mixture into dry ingredients.
  4. Make pancakes!
Leave a Reply

