Dinner: Pot Pie and Cauliflower Latkes

Remember how I said I wanted latkes? Well since I can’t eat potatoes, I found a recipe that uses cauliflower instead! I was a little worried about the texture before cooking, but they turned out really well. They do taste like cauliflower, but I liked it anyway. So did The Boyfriend. Shockingly, I followed this recipe exactly.

I wanted to do something with the latkes – usually I’d cook some sort of meat main course and do latkes as a side, but The Boyfriend is a vegetarian. While I was buying the cheese for the latkes, I saw some gruyere which I talked myself out of, but it reminded me that I used to love making Rachael Ray’s Tarragon-Cream Chicken Pot Pies with Polenta. Now last night I changed so much about this recipe that it’s almost unrecognizable, so I’ll list what I did below.

GLUTEN-FREE VEGGIE POT PIE

INGREDIENTS:

  • olive oil, salt, pepper
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 onion
  • 3 carrots
  • 3 sticks of celery
  • 8 brussels sprouts
  • 2 Tbsp margarine (I use Earth Balance)
  • 2 Tbsp gluten-free flour (I use Outrageous Baking – it’s brown rice and sorghum)
  • 2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 6 sprigs tarragon, stripped and chopped (2-3 Tbsp)
  • 3 cups vegetable broth, divided
  • 1/2 cup plain soy milk (I always use Silk or Earth Balance if I can find it)
  • 3/4 cup brown rice couscous*

*Note: this looks like it’s the only brand who makes anything like this. the original recipe calls for 1/2 cup quick-cooking polenta. Feel free to use that, but I have a hard time digesting corn so I used the couscous instead. It adds a nice nutty rice-y flavor.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Chop your onion and the sweet potato. In a very deep, large skillet (which I don’t have) or a pot (which I do), heat up a few tablespoons of olive oil, and cook the onion and sweet potato until the onion starts to soften. While that’s cooking, cut up the rest of your veggies (just halve the brussels sprouts) and toss them in as you finish.
  2. Let that cook, stirring occasionally. Keep an eye on it and add more oil if needed to keep things from sticking. In the meantime, heat up 1 cup of vegetable broth and the 1/2 cup of soy milk in a separate pot. Once it’s boiling, add your gluten-free couscous or polenta and stir. Put the lid on, turn the heat all the way down to its lowest setting, and leave it for 10 minutes.
  3. Back in your first pot, shove your vegetables off to the side and melt the margarine. Add the flour and whisk until it becomes a thin paste (you may need to tilt your pan). Add the 2 cups of vegetable broth you had reserved, whisking while you pour. Add the Dijon and tarragon, and salt and pepper to taste. Let the liquid come to bubbling.  It should form a pretty thick sauce.
  4. At this point I turned the heat down and put the lid on, hoping to cook the vegetables all the way through. I let it cook for 5 more minutes and then checked the sweet potatoes to see if they were soft. If not, add a little extra vegetable broth and put the lid back on.
  5. Here’s where I depart again from the original recipe; you’re supposed to broil the tops but since the couscous is already cooked and there’s no cheese, this seemed silly, so I just heated the oven to 350*F and baked them for a bit instead. (Again, attempting to finish cooking those tough vegetables.) I always make this recipe in my Pyrex storage containers because it makes enough for 4, and they’re oven-safe. Portion out your pot pie filling into the bowls, then top with the couscous/polenta. Spread out your bowls on a baking sheet and put in the oven for 10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

