Dinner: Black Bean and Butternut Squash Soup

It SNOWED yesterday! Woohoo! Of course it has all melted now, because we live in Colorado and the snow doesn’t stick around, but still. SNOW!

Anyway my mom and brother were out in Firestone running an errand so I invited them for dinner. Since it was cold and I spent the whole day in fuzzy socks, I made soup! (And apple cider)

This is going to be a staple in our household as the winer months approached. I got the recipe from Clean-Eating Chelsey, who’s a big fan of soups. I really didn’t make soups all the often but it’s so easy to do when you’re gluten-free that I suspect I’ll make a lot. ESPECIALLY this one. LOVE it. It’s got a little bit of spice to it, and really fantastic flavors, plus my favorite thing about it is that I can have all the ingredients lying around the house – this is definitely a pantry meal for me.

You know, pantry meal: I have no food in the house except a carrot, an egg, and some canned stuff.  Can I make dinner, or do I have go to to the store? Pantry meal.

I also made my own mulled apple cider in the crock pot. Next time, I’ll make a party-sized version and tell you how much of these spices I used.

  • Apple Cider (there’s a local one from Tamarack Farms that is the “Kroger” brand this year. It’s WAY better than Bob’s, or whoever does that appallingly expensive cider)
  • Crystallized Ginger
  • Cloves
  • Cinnamon Stick
  • Jamaican All-Spice
  • Nutmeg
Leave a Reply

