Dinner: Paleo and Vegetarian together? Challenge accepted!

So The Boyfriend’s Parents came over for dinner on Thursday, which I learned at around 11 that morning. Naturally the house was a complete mess and I had no food in.

The Boyfriend and his Dad are both generally vegetarian. His Mom is on the Paleo diet. I can’t eat all the things I can’t eat. This is going to be fun. Here’s the spread:

  • Baked Salmon (Paleo, GF)
  • Turmeric Sweet Potatoes (Paleo, GF, DF, Vegan)
  • Vegan Paleo Stuffed Peppers (Vegan, GF, DF, Paleo)

I bought wild-caught salmon at Alfalfa’s, which is a local place like Whole Foods. They have the BEST butcher and seafood department of everybody in the area. Luckily they’re by my office. I bought about 1 pound, then just rubbed the salmon filets with olive oil, salt, and pepper, then put them in a pan, covered them with aluminum foil, and put them in the oven with the stuffed peppers to bake for 30 minutes.

I cobbled together stuff from a few different recipes to get the following.

Vegan Paleo Stuffed Peppers 

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil, Salt & Pepper
  • 4 Bell Peppers (whatever color)
  • 1 Bell Pepper in a contrasting color
  • 1 – 8oz can Tomato Sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups Cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup chopped Pecans (I actually forgot I was going to do this, so they didn’t end up in the version I made but I think they’d be really good and add some nice texture and protein!) 
  • 5-6 mushrooms, chopped (I used Crimini)
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper (This was pretty spicy, FYI)
  • 1 Tbsp dried Oregano
  • 1 tsp dried Basil

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 375*F.
  2. Slice the tops off your 3 bell peppers and remove the stems and seeds. I rinsed the inside to make sure there were no seeds left, then put them upside down in the dish rack to dry while I prepped the insides.
  3. 2013-10-03 18.29.56“Rice” your cauliflower (image at right) by putting it in the blender or food processor and pulsing until there are no more large chunks. (I used one small 1 lb head of cauliflower and ended up with 2 cups. I could have saved the rest for another recipe, or to put in an omelette the next morning, but ended up tossing it out. I’m terrible, I know.)
  4. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, saute the onion, garlic, and that extra bell pepper for a few minutes until the onion is soft and translucent. Add the cauliflower, pecans, mushrooms, and can of tomato sauce, let it come to a slow boil, then turn the heat down to medium-low and let simmer for about 5-10 minutes. While it’s simmering, add the spices and salt and pepper to taste.
  5. 2013-10-03 18.29.50While that’s on the stovetop, get ready to fill your peppers. If you have a large muffin tin, you can use that to help the eppers stand upright. Otherwise slice a very thin layer off the bottom of your peppers to make the bottom more even. Don’t cut off too much, or you’ll have a hole for your stuffing to fall through. (If you cut off too much, just put the piece you cut off inside the bell pepper to plug the hole.) Put your peppers in the muffin tin or on a baking sheet.
  6. Turn off the heat on the stove and spoon the mixture into your peppers. It’s ok if they’re overstuffed! Slide your pan of peppers into the oven and cook for 20-30 minutes or until the peppers are soft. I had some filling left over because I only made 3 peppers; I just rolled the rest into two “meatballs” and stuck them in the pan too.

They were a huge success! Boyfriend’s Mom asked for my recipes! I can’t eat the stuffed peppers because they’re nightshades, but I had a small taste of the stuffing and they were flavorful and a little spicy. I think they were verging on too spicy, so be aware of that if you make these.

Those sweet potatoes were AWESOME and really easy and low-maintenance. While they were cooking, I set the table and washed some dishes. I’m definitely making those again! I actually upped the recipe and used 3 sweet potatoes, which was plenty of food for the four of us.

2013-10-03 19.23.01
The plant was a gift from one of the Fringe artists! I thought it made a pretty Autumn centerpiece.

 

Leave a Reply

