Dessert: Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Lemon Bars

I made lemon bars last night. They turned out okay. I think I cooked them a little too long because the top lemony layer wasn’t quite the texture I remember. I also think they needed more lemon and more sugar. So that’s adjusted in the (untested) recipe, below. The recipe I based this on used only sugar, but I only had a cup left so I subbed honey for some of the sugar in the filling. I have a lot of lemon bars to eat and give away, but I’ll try this recipe again and let you guys know how it turned out with these adjustments. (Or if you make them before then, let me know in the comments!)

CRUST:

  • 1 cup white rice flour (not sweet rice flour. I used Bob’s Red Mill brand)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup Earth Balance margarine (the best!)

FILLING:

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup honey
  • 9 Tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice (last time I used 6, which was about 2 large lemons.)
  • 4 Tbsp white rice flour
  • 4 large eggs

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. In a mixer, blend together margarine, flour, and sugar for crust. It should be crumbly but stick together when you pinch it.
  3. In an un-greased, 9×13″ pan, press the dough flat until it covers the entire bottom. Bake for 15-20 minutes. The rice flour never really gets “golden-brown,” but it puffs up a little bit; just keep checking the edges because if they start to get crispy it’s time to take the crust out!
  4. While that’s baking, get together your lemon juice, eggs, 4 Tbsp flour, and sugar and honey for the filling. You can prep all this, but wait to whisk it together until your crust is out of the oven; I found I had to whisk it all again before pouring it into the crust because it began to separate.
  5. Now pop the whole thing back into the oven for 20 minutes. (Now this is where I think I went wrong last time, but now that there’s more liquid I think it needs the whole cooking time.)
Leave a Reply

