Lunch: GF-Vegan Garbanzo Bean Wrap

With Fringe wrapping up today, I finally had time to go to the store and have time to cook and eat dinner at home this week. This is huge!

The Boyfriend’s been fighting off a cold so I made a version of Reboot with Joe’s Mean Green Juice. I have trouble with cucumber and celery so I’ve simplified the ingredients as follows.

To fill my juicer’s 32oz container:

  • several handfuls of spinach and kale
  • alternating with handfuls of 2 chopped Granny Smith apples
  • and 1 sliced lemon, no peel

I find that if I alternate the greens with the apple chunks, my juicer is less likely to choke. I have a Hurom slow juicer and love it!

The Boyfriend and I both need portable lunches for these long days. Tonight I’m prepping the insides of these Gluten-Free Chickpea (Garbanzo Bean) and Avocado Wraps from http://alisonsmith.com/food-love-gluten-free-vegan-spiced-chickpea-wrap/

I can’t eat green peppers and couldn’t be bothered to find dried chickpeas so here’s what I used:

    • olive oil, salt and pepper
    • 1 – 15 oz can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed (instead of the dried chickpeas)
    • about 2/3 cups of chopped onion (because that was half a fairly large yellow onion)
    • 1 cup of chopped zucchini (because that was a whole zucchini)
    • some other vegetables (butternut squash, bell peppers, kale, spinach, etc could be good)
    • 1 tsp of turmeric
    • 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika
    • (apparently I don’t own real paprika so I just skipped the 1/2 tsp of sweet paprika)
    • 3/4 cup of water
    • 1 avocado (because who uses half an avocado when you can use a whole one?)
    • 1 green onion
    • some baby spinach (not lettuce like the recipe asked for)
    • Gluten-free wraps (I used local company Rudi’s spinach wraps)

Are you guys getting a sense of my cooking style yet? Hah.

How to make the chickpea wrap filling:

1. Heat some olive oil. I used my largest (maybe 10″?) frying pan because I can’t season the wok without smoking myself out of the house. Cook the onion, green onion, and spices (smoked paprika, turmeric) in the hot oil. Cook until soft. (This step smells DELICIOUS)

2. Add the chickpeas, zucchini, and any other vegetables to the pan. Mix. I made it with a few handfuls of kale and some chopped butternut squash the second time. If you use a veggie like the butternut squash, cut it into small chunks and allow more water and longer cooking time.

3. Add 1/4 cup of water, and cover the pan with a lid. Keep the lid on for 3 minutes.

4. Stir the mixture. Mine was still pretty moist at this point but I ended up needing to add another 1/2 cup water later, so just add that now. Cover the pan with a lid, again, and cook for about 8-10 minutes. You want all the veggies to be soft.

5. Mash the mixture a little bit. And add salt and pepper to taste.

At this point I turned off the heat and let it sit and soften a bit more with the lid on. Then I split it into Pyrex containers. I put enough for two wraps in Kyle’s and 1 in mine, then split the avocado in half and dropped each half (still in its skin) inside. I brought the wrap and insides separately so I can warm up the chickpea mixture in the microwave and assemble the wrap at work.

I wish I’d put more vegetables in it. I should have tossed some handfuls of spinach in there, and maybe another zucchini. I think it’d also be fantastic with a few carrots. It’s a bit heavy on the chickpeas and a little dry for my personal taste. Next time I’ll do that, because this was definitely a make-again. 1 pot, fairly easy prep now that I know what quantities I want to use.

While that was simmering on the stove, I made these no-bake GF Vegan cookies. 

ETA: When The Boyfriend came home last night he said, “That wrap was delicious! And then I didn’t even eat any of the other stuff I brought for lunch!”

Leave a Reply

